





AI import your old contracts
Importing legacy contracts with AI requires specific permissions. To import old contracts and extract data from them automatically, you must have company user permissions to “Manage all contracts” on your account. Only company users with the “Manage AI upload contract type” permission enabled will be able to create new custom types of contracts.
Upload legacy contracts
AI import allows you to seamlessly import old contracts to centralize your archive and automatically extract key contract data.
From the Upload contracts dropdown menu on your Contracts or Home page, click on the Upload contracts with AI option.
Select the contract type you want to import from the Default contract types in the left-hand side of the panel, such as Sales and vendor contracts, Employment contracts, or NDAs.
Alternatively, you can use one of the existing or add a new Custom contract type by clicking on Create a new contract type.
To confirm the selection, click on the blue Next step button.

Drag and drop your contract files directly into the import window.
Ensure your files meet the requirements, utilizing PDF, DOC, DOCX, PNG, or JPG file formats smaller than 85MB. You can add up to 200 files per upload.
Click the blue Start upload button to initiate the contract upload and data extraction process.


Cancel AI uploads mid-process
If you upload the wrong file or change your mind, you can cancel AI upload mid-process at any stage, including during the uploading, OCR, or AI extraction phases.
Click the X icon next to the file name in the upload modal at the top menu to cancel the process.
Verify that the upload has stopped, as canceled contracts are discarded completely from the system.

Verify extracted data with source highlights
Once the import is complete, you can review and verify extracted data and metadata fields directly within the platform. Click on the blue Review upload results button from the in-app notification, your email notification or by directly clicking on the imported contract from the Contracts menu.


Click any purple AI-extracted data or metadata field located in the Data fields sidebar to automatically scroll to its exact source location in the body of the contract.
Review the highlighted source to verify the extracted information accurately reflects the original text.

You can also verify multiple data fields at once by clicking on the white Verify all button under the All fields section of the Data fields sidebar.
The bulk verification is also available under the Uploads section dedicated to the files import in the left-hand sidebar of your Contracts page. Click on Verify all to complete the action from this view.


Manage your imported contracts
After your files are imported, they are automatically stored in your default contract view called My contracts. They will also be visible under the Uploads section of the Contracts menu sidebar.
Click on the Uploads section in the left-hand sidebar of your Contracts page to locate your newly uploaded files grouped by date and time.
You can see which uploads have been verified by the small icons indicating this status. The small checkmark icon represents all fully verified AI uploads.
Hover over a specific import view in the sidebar and click the X button to dismiss it from your navigation panel.
Dismissing a view will keep the uploaded contracts available under My contracts.


Frequently asked questions
I don't have “Manage AI upload contract type” permission on my account, can I still import with the AI?
Yes. While only company users with the “Manage AI upload contract type” permission can create new custom contract types, every company user can use the AI import feature to upload contracts using the default types or any custom types already created by others.
Can other company users see the contracts I just imported?
By default, no. All files uploaded via the AI import are initially stored privately in your "My contracts" view. If you want to share them with others, you must directly share the contract or move it into a shared contract space.
What happens to my contract if I cancel the AI upload?
If you cancel an upload at any stage, the file is completely discarded from the platform. It will not be saved as a draft or stored anywhere in your repository.
Can I use verified contracts uploaded with AI in automations?
Yes. Once your contract is uploaded and the data fields are verified, you can use the verification step to trigger actions in the automation builder, such as automatic renewal reminders, or moving to a shared contract space.

Helpful guides
