How to share contract spaces

If you create a new contract space yourself, you can freely share it with anyone without needing additional permissions. However, to manage access for an existing shared contract space, you must have the “Manage space” permission. Ensure you have this permission enabled for the specific space, or contact another user from your company who can share it with the needed permissions.

Share access to contract spaces with individual users

You can share contract spaces with individual users, whether they are part of your company or external collaborators.

  • Click on the Contracts tab from the main navigation menu.

  • Click on the specific space you want to share from the Contract spaces sidebar, or click on add a contract space to create a new one.

  • Click on the Manage Access button at the top right-hand side of the screen.

  • Type the email address of an external collaborator in the input field.

  • Search by name or email address under the Users tab to select users from your company.

  • Click on the blue Share button to complete the action.

  • All users you selected and external collaborators you invited will automatically receive the shared permissions you allow them from the Manage access dropdown menu.

When assigning contract space permissions, the access levels depend on whether the user belongs to your company:

  • Company users: You can assign them all types of permissions, including View contracts, Manage contracts, or Manage space.

  • External collaborators: The only permission you can enable to collaborators outside your company is View contracts.

Manage access to contract spaces with user groups

You can manage access to all your company's contracts efficiently using user groups.

  • Click on the Contracts tab from the main navigation menu.

  • From the Contract spaces sidebar, click on the specific space you want to share with others or add a contract space to create a new one from scratch.

  • Click on the Manage Access button at the top right-hand side of the screen.

  • Click on the User groups tab instead of using the Users tab.

  • Select the specific group that needs access to the contract space from the list of company user groups.

  • Click on the blue Share button to complete the action.

  • All active users who are part of the group you selected will automatically receive the shared permissions you allow them from the Manage access dropdown menu.

Access types in contract spaces

When you manage access for a Contract space, you can assign individual users or user groups with the following rights:

  • View contracts: Can view and add comments to contracts.

  • Manage contracts: Can create, fully manage, and share contracts.

  • Manage space: Can edit and share the Contract space.

How do I remove access to a shared contract space?

To remove access to a shared contract space entirely, you can either remove individual users or external collaborators one by one, or remove an entire User group.

To remove individual users or external collaborators, follow these steps:

  • Open the shared contract space and click the Manage access button in the top right corner.

  • Locate the individual user or external collaborator in the list.

  • Hover over their name and click the trash icon on the right side.

  • The user's access is removed instantly, and a small green confirmation box will automatically appear at the bottom of your page.

To remove shared access to a contract space for an entire User group, follow these steps:

  • Open the shared contract space and click the Manage access button in the top right corner.

  • Locate the specific User group in the list.

  • Hover over the group's name and click the trash icon on the right side to instantly remove space access for all users within that group.

  • The group’s access is removed instantly, and a small green confirmation box will automatically appear at the bottom of your page.

Frequently asked questions

  • Are my new contract spaces private by default?

Yes, each new contract space you create will be private by default. It remains private and accessible only to you until you actively share it by granting access to others from the Manage access menu.

  • Can I change the shared contract space permission type later?

Yes. You can return to the Manage Access settings of any contract space and adjust the permission level for an entire user group at once, or for individual users you have selected.

  • What happens if someone gets removed from a user group?

If a user is removed from a group in your company (but remains an active user in your company account), they will lose any access granted through the user group dedicated permissions menu.

  • If you have added the same user individually to a specific Contract or Template space, their direct shared permissions to that space will remain unchanged.

  • However, if the Contract or Template space was shared with the user group the removed user used to be part of, their spaces permissions will no longer be effective.

Helpful guides:

Did you find this guide helpful?