




How to share pending, signed, and rejected contracts
Sharing pending, signed, or rejected contracts requires specific permissions. To share these types of contracts with others, you must be the creator of the contract draft, have "Full access" shared with you, have a "Manage contracts" contract space permission, or have the "Manage all contracts" company permission enabled on your user account.
Share a contract with collaborators
Open the pending, signed, or rejected contract and click the Share button in the top right corner of the navigation bar.

Search by name to find a user from your company, or type in the full name and email address of an external collaborator by clicking on Create new collaborator from the dropdown list.
When sharing with someone outside of your company, an informative banner will appear in the share module confirming that the permissions you enable will be given to an external collaborator. To confirm this, click on the blue Share anyway button.

Click again in the search box at the top of the sharing module if you want to share the contract with multiple people at once. Find an existing collaborator or create a new one again.

Select the correct permission level from the dropdown menu next to each collaborator's name. You can choose either Can view or Full access.
Type a customized message in the text box at the bottom if you want to include instructions in their email notifications.
Click the blue Share button to confirm.

Understand contract permission levels
When sharing contracts that are already in motion (pending) or completed (signed/rejected), you only have two permission levels to choose from.
Can view: Collaborators can only read the document. They can add the contract to a shared contract space, move it to a private space, download it as a PDF, save it as a new draft, add a task, or remove the contract from their contracts' view.
Full access: Collaborators have almost the same rights as the contract creator. For pending contracts, they can edit and resend it for signatures (unless a signee has suggested changes). Across all contract states, they can manage existing collaborators, add new ones, move the contract to contract spaces, add tasks, download as a PDF, and even delete a pending or rejected contract entirely.

Important sharing rules and restrictions
There are a few restrictions to keep in mind when sharing access to pending or signed contracts:
You cannot share access to a pending contract with any of the signees who have already been added to the Parties and Signees sidebar.
When sharing with someone outside of your company, the permissions you grant them are strictly limited to that specific contract only.

Frequently asked questions
How can I check if the contract is already shared?
You will see the initials of all accounts with shared access in the top navigation bar of the contract. When you click on the Share button, you can view everyone's specific permission type. Use the dropdown options to edit their permission level.


Who can delete a pending or rejected contract?
If you have "Full access" permissions in the contract, you can delete it entirely while it is still pending, or got rejected by one of the signees.
Who can request the archivation or deletion of a fully signed contract?
Archivation requires the creator or anyone with “Full access” to request it from our Support team. Full deletion requires the creator or a company user with “Manage all contracts” permission, plus the approval of all signees individually sent to our Support team.
Why am I missing users from my company in the share contract module?
The accounts listed in the Share module belong to the active users with permissions to all contracts from your company in Contractbook.
Helpful guides:
