How to fill in data fields in a shared contract draft

Filling in data before signing a contract requires specific permissions. To interact with the data  fields in a shared contract draft, you must have permissions to “Fill Document”, “Edit document”, or “Full access”. If you need to fill in metadata fields, the shared access must be the same, and you must be a user from the sender’s company in Contractbook. Ensure you have one of these permissions enabled before proceeding, or contact the contract sender for help.

Access the contract

When someone sends you a contract draft that you need to fill in with data, you can open it from the associated email notification, or your account notifications if you are already logged in to your Contractbook profile.

  • Open the email notification and click the blue View draft button.

  • If you are already logged in to your Contractbook account, click on the No

Fill in assigned data fields

If the sender requires you to provide information in the contract body, such as your contact details, dates, or account numbers, they will assign specific data fields to you. To fill in the values of these data fields, follow these steps:

  • Locate the Data fields navigation sidebar on the right side of the contract draft to see a list of all fields assigned to you.

  • Click on a data field in the Data fields sidebar, or click directly on the field in the contract body.

  • Delete the placeholder value (if there is one) and type your specific information into the value field.

  • Press the Tab key on your keyboard to automatically jump to the next in line data field in the body that you must fill in.

  • Or follow their sequence in the Data fields sidebar.

  • Review your imputed values and ensure all assigned to you data fields are completed.

Frequently asked questions

  • Why am I not allowed to edit data fields in a contract?

    Everyone can see all contract data fields irrespective of the access level they have in a shared draft. However, you can only edit data fields if the sender has granted you “Fill Document”, “Edit document”, or “Full access” permissions. If you were only given view permissions, you cannot edit fields. In this case, contact the sender to request higher access rights.

  • Can I see the history of changes before I sign?
    The sender must explicitly grant you shared access to the document and enable visibility for the version history. If they have not granted this access, you will not see the history of changes in the contract body.

  • What happens if the sender deletes or withdraws the contract? If the contract owner rejects or deletes the contract, everyone who was invited to sign or had already signed will receive an email notification. The email message includes the sender's name and explains that all signatures have been removed and the contract is no longer accessible. You will also receive an email notification if the owner withdraws a pending contract back to draft mode.

Helpful guides:

Did you find this guide helpful?