




How to share a contract draft
Sharing a contract draft requires you to have specific permissions. To share a draft with others, you must be the creator of the draft, have "Full access" shared with you, have a "Manage contracts" contract space permission, or have the "Manage all contracts" company permission enabled on your user account.

Share a draft with collaborators
You can share your draft with internal company users or external collaborators so they can view, edit, or fill in details before the contract draft is sent for signatures.
Open the draft you want to share and click the Share button in the top right corner of the navigation bar.

Search by name to find user from your company, or type in the full name and email address of an external collaborator by clicking on Create new collaborator from the dropdown list.


Click again in the Search box at the top of the sharing module if you want to share the draft with multiple people at once. Find an existing collaborator or create a new one again.

Select the correct permission level from the dropdown menu next to each collaborator's name.

Type a customized message in the text box at the bottom if you want to include instructions.

Click the blue Share button to confirm.
All selected collaborators will receive an email notification with your message and a direct link to view the draft.

Understand draft permission levels
When sharing a draft, you must select a permission level that dictates what the collaborator can do. You can change these permissions at any time by reopening the Share menu.

Can view: Collaborators can only read the draft, add comments, and make suggestions. They cannot edit fields, the body text or send the draft for signatures.

You can manually enable Access to Private Suggestions and Private Comments or Access to Full Version History under the Also section of the permissions module.
Can fill: Collaborators can fill in assigned data fields and signee fields.

You can manually enable any of the additional Can send documents for signatures, Access to Private Suggestions and Private Comments or Access to Full Version History.
Can edit: Collaborators can edit the entire body of the draft, including all data fields.

You can manually enable any of the additional Can send documents for signatures, Access to Private Suggestions and Private Comments or Access to Full Version History.
Full access: Collaborators have the same rights as the draft’s creator. They can edit the body, manage data and metadata fields, manage the full version history, share and delete the draft (as long as it is not fully signed yet).
The additional permissions: Can send documents for signatures, Access to Private Suggestions and Private Comments or Access to Full Version History are enabled by default and cannot be disabled.


Frequently asked questions
Why is the Share button not visible to me?
If the Share button is missing at the top of the contract draft, it means you do not have the required permissions to share it with others (you most likely have “View” permissions). If you need to share it with others, you can request "Full access" from the draft's creator, or save the document as a new draft (which will make you the owner of that new copy and allow you to share it with others).
How can I check if the draft is already shared?
You will see the initials of all people the draft is shared with in the top navigation bar of the contract draft. If you try to share the draft with someone who already has access, they will be labeled as "Shared" in the menu.

Can I allow others to send a contract for signature?
Yes, you can control this by enabling the Can send documents for signatures permission when assigning access in the Share draft menu. If you grant "Fill document" or "Edit document" access, you can manually turn this permission on or off. For "Full access," this is by default and permanently enabled, and for "View and comment on document," it is by default and permanently disabled.
Helpful guides:


